WEST DES MOINES, Iowa – January 29, 2021 – The Iowa Agriculture Literacy Foundation (IALF) has awarded 142 grants to schools throughout Iowa to support the integration of agriculture into classroom instruction or after school programs with an academic focus.

The Agriculture in the Classroom Teacher Supplement Grants are designed to help teachers initiate new projects or expand existing projects that promote agriculture literacy in students.  Grants can be used to fund innovative lessons, activities, classroom resources, guest speakers, outreach programs, fieldtrips and other projects.

One grant recipient, Laura Vaughn who will be teaching students about photosynthesis, commented, “Thank you so much.  The students will love it and learn so much!”

Some of the innovative applicants will be conducting projects this spring including aquaponics, water quality, farm-to-fork projects, dairy field trips, egg hatching, and agricultural history tours.  Successful applicants will use these agricultural experiences to teach language arts, social studies and a variety of other concepts already taught in their classrooms.

“We had very high-quality applications this year involving agriculture in core curriculum in innovative and creative ways,” said IALF executive director, Will Fett.  “These projects will allow teachers to make learning real and relevant for their students and still align to state educational standards.”

The grants are a special project of IALF and made possible through support from the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation with additional support from the Iowa Egg Council.  

“We are pleased to provide this support for teachers in their classrooms,” said Ronnette Vondrak, Iowa Farm Bureau Federation (IFBF) community resources manager.  “Agricultural literacy is an important aspect of the IFBF goal to build understanding of the value of Iowa agriculture.”

Upon being informed of the grant award, St. Francis Xavier principal, Peter Smith, said, “Thank you so much for the great news! We appreciate the funding for our program.”

The projects will be completed before the end of the school year with final reports submitted by June 7, 2021. For more information, visit www.iowaagliteracy.org.  The following are award recipients:

Sarah Allison, Hubbard-Radcliffe Elementary

Ann Andersen, Shelby County Catholic School

Jennifer Arbogast, Douds Elementary

Lezlie Barry, West Central Community School

Dean Behrens, North Cedar Elementary

Erin Bemis, Seeds of Faith Preschool

Jennifer Boswell, Taft Elementary

Amy Boyles, Nixon Elementary

Amanda Brink, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont Jr/Sr High School

Taylor Brittain, Nodaway Valley High School

Elizabeth Burke, Eleanor Roosevelt Middle School

Kirsten Burrett, Carrie Lee Elementary

Annette Butikofer, Fayette Community Library

Ellen Cannon, Midland Elementary

Cathryn Carney, Nevada Middle School

Diane Casey, IKM-Manning

Anyssa Castillo, Boyer Valley Elementary

Lisa Christiansen, Newell-Fonda

Tess Cochran, East Union High School

Mike Cooley, East Union Community High School

Chelsey Cozad, Sidney Elementary School

Beth Cuddeback, Seeds of Faith Early Learning Center

Diana Dahir, Tri-Center High School

Courtney Darrow, Newell-Fonda

Adam Davis, Martensdale-St. Marys

Jennifer DeLaRosa, Carrie Lee Elementary School

Tammy Dillinger, Mayflower Christian School

Ashley Dirks, Albert City-Truesdale Elementary School

Lisa Doering, Alden Elementary

Rebecca Dostal, North Tama

Codie Duhn, Discover Preschool

Amber Evans, Pocahontas Area Elementary

Susie Fah, Tri-Center Elementary

Dena Finer, Hubbell Elementary

Skylynn Fleming, Lake Mills High School

Jordan Fonken, Eagle Grove Elementary

Stacey Galles, MMCRU

Hayle Gaul, Edgewood Colesburg Elementary

Yvonne Gaul, Shelby County Catholic School

Katie Glime, Johnson STEAM Academy

Diane Gnade, Midland Elementary

Alyssa Gorkow, Johnson STEAM Academy

Amy Grantz, Central DeWitt High School

Angela Greiner, Pekin Elementary

Michelle Griffen, Logan-Magnolia Elementary

Elizabeth Hagan, Kuemper Catholic High School

Steven Hameister, Panorama Community Schools

Peggy Hamilton, Fairview Elementary

Kristi Hannemann, Nashua-Plainfield Elementary

Devin Hardin, Cardinal Elementary

Jamie Haugen, Alta-Aurelia Community Schools

Susan Heilig, Calamus Wheatland Elementary School

Logan Henry, Clarinda Middle/High School

Susan Hess, Newell-Fonda School

Beth Hodges, Oskaloosa Elementary

Adrianna Huff, Edgewood-Colesburg Elementary

Judy Jacobsen, IKM-Manning CSD

Melissa James, Center Point - Urbana High School

Katie Johnsen, Logan-Magnolia Elementary

Miranda Johnson, North Mahaska Community School District

Melissa Kaub, Denison Middle School

Christine Kennedy, Seeds of Faith Early Learning Center

Gretchen Kingland, Lake Mills Elementary

Barb Klein, Resurrection Elementary

Marcy Klein, Carrie Lee Elementary

Lindsey Kleinheksel, Denver Elementary

Karen Klotzbach, Carrie Lee Elementary

Megan Kramer, MMCRU

Nancy Kriener, Spirit Lake Elementary School

Kristie Kuhse, Waverly-Shell Rock Middle School

Emily Kullen, West Union Elementary

Sara Lehr, Central City Community School District

Jennifer Linde, IKM-Manning Middle School

Lorine Linde, IKM-Manning Community Schools

Maria Lunders, Seeds of Faith ELC

Janet Mack, Seeds of Faith Early Learning Center

Amy Madsen, Carroll Middle School

Susan Maitlen, Mayflower School

Melanie Marreel, Clear Creek Elementary

Brady Martin, East Union

Melissa Marwedel, Valerius Elementary School

Wendy Matson, Tri-Center Elementary

Whitney McKeever, Newell-Fonda

Josie McMinemee, Tri-Center

Rebecca Menard, Williams Junior High School

Spencer Mesick, Bettendorf High School

Julie Messer, Mediapolis Middle School

Taylor Mikels, Logan-Magnoia Elementary

Rebecca Milum, Roosevelt Middle School

Karen Moeller, Prince of Peace Catholic School

Cassi Montandon, Wapello Jr/Sr High

Tom Murray, North Linn High School

Tara Norman, Clarke Community Elementary

Katie Pacza, Ridge View High School

Jackie Panos, Carrie Lee Elementary

Angela Pape, MFLMarMac

Lacey Peters, South Side Elementary

Rachel Popken, Hawarden Elementary

Donna Ramsey, East Union Elementary School

Katherine Reckling, Wilson Middle School

John Reicks, Turkey Valley Elementary

Lisa Reinier, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont Junior/Senior High School

Molly Reisz, Denison Middle School

Kate Reuter, MMCRU Royals

Kelli Rozendaal, Johnson STEAM Academy

Jennifer Schlader, Kittrell Early Childhood Center

Donita Schmitz, Elk Run Preschool

Angie Schnepf, MMCRU Marcus

Korrin Schriver, Wahlert Catholic High School

Samantha Schroeder, MMCRU High School

Courtney Schulte, Seeds of Faith

Melissa Sendt, Eleanor Roosevelt Middle School

Amanda Seuntjens, MMCRU elementary

Denise Shekleton, Crestwood Elementary/Junior High

Julie Sievers, Newell-Fonda

Nicole Smith, Saint Patrick's Catholic School

Taylor Smith, Elma Early Childhood Center

Cindy Snell, Waukee APEX

Kristina Snyder, St. Francis Xavier School

Angela Sohn, Spirit Lake Community School

Rosa Sondag, Central Decatur Community School

Rebekah Spragg, Albert City-Truesdale

Kathy Stipe, Kuemper Catholic Junior High

Jessica Studebaker, Wapsie Valley Elementary

Doug Stueven, Spirit Lake Elementary

Brad Taylor, Roland-Story

Linda Tegeler, Ed-Co

Ryan Thole, Hubbell Elementary

Stefanie Throndson, New Hampton School District

Neal VanErsvelde, BGM

Amanda Vardaman, Clarinda Community Schools

Laura Vaughn, Coon Rapids-Bayard Community School District

Julie Voss, Resurrection Elementary

Catherine Wedemeier, Wings Park Elementary

Sarah Wille, MFL MarMac High School

Vicki Winterliin, Westwood Community School

Beverly Wolterman, IKM - Manning

Jennifer Wrage, Gladbrook-Reinbeck Elementary School

Timi Wunschel, OABCIG Elementary-Ida Grove

Rebecca Young, Alden Elementary

Michelle Zimmerman, Seeds of Faith Early Learning Center

Andrew Zinn, Davenport West